According To A New Government Report, These 7 Cereals Do Not Qualify As ‘Healthy’

Mike Mozart

A bowl of cereal is the perfect meal or snack. Most people eat it for breakfast, but it could suit really any time of day. But how do you find a good, healthy cereal? One that will not only taste great, but isn’t filled with sugar, offers plenty of nutrients, and will keep you full all day?

Knowing what foods constitute as “healthy” can be quite a challenge. However, now, food products are becoming more regulated by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, who just put out certain criteria that brands need to be met to be labeled as “healthy.”

If a product is going to be defined as “healthy,” they must now align with the FDA’s updated Nutrition Facts label and the current Dietary Guidelines for Americans. However, this means that most “healthy” cereals—at least ones you might’ve thought were previously “healthy” actually aren’t very good for you at all.

Different food groups have different criteria, but for cereals to get the healthy seal of approval from the FDA, they must contain the following:

  • three-fourth ounces of whole grains
  • no more than 1 gram of saturated fat
  • no more than 230 milligrams of sodium
  • no more than 2.5 grams of added sugars

These new standards come after the White House Conference on Hunger, Nutrition, and Health, “as well as the release of the related national strategy, which aims to end hunger, improve nutrition and physical activity, reduce diet-related diseases and close disparity gaps by 2030,” the FDA wrote in its press release.

“Healthy food can lower our risk for chronic disease. But too many people may not know what constitutes healthy food,” said the secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Xavier Becerra, in the FDA’s statement. “FDA’s move will help educate more Americans to improve health outcomes, tackle health disparities and save lives.”

Below is a list of cereals that you may have previously deemed healthy, but according to the new guidance, are, in fact, not.

  1. Raisin Bran (9g of added sugars)
  2. Honey Nut Cheerios (12g of added sugars)
  3. Corn Flakes (300mg of sodium; 4g of added sugars)
  4. Honey Bunches of Oats Honey Roasted (8g of added sugars)
  5. Frosted Mini Wheats (12g of added sugars)
  6. Life (8g of added sugars)
  7. Special K (270mg of sodium; 4g of added sugars)

Do you regularly eat any of these cereals? What other cereals do you eat that may not get the stamp of approval according to the new FDA guidance?